Lemon and Garlic Tilapia (Baked) with Mango Salsa

One of my friends had come over one night and we decided to have a movie night. We both looked at each other and the first thing that came out of both our mouths were…TACOS! I wanted to make fish tacos a few days before, but never had the chance. What a coincidence that she wanted tacos the same night I did! ūüėČ

I know fish can get somewhat expensive and I wanted to keep my budget on the smaller end. I love Salmon and Tuna, and after having Opah¬†in Kauai, I love that too. However, those fishes are a little more on the higher end of the budget. Instead, I used Tilapia which I found to be reasonably priced and would be able to do the job at hand. I¬†remember a Tilapia dish I had eaten on a cruise. It was one of the worst dishes I had ever had! Thank god I was on a cruise ship and could ask for a different dish and I wouldn’t be charged for it! But….Since I am not on a cruise ship and it gets expensive for trial and error with fish…I said this had better be good!

In the end it worked out perfectly! The flavors came through nicely and left me wanting more.

I was full, yet still hungry! ūüėČ
 Lemon and Garlic Tilapia (Baked)

Servings: 3-6 servings

Total Time: 15 minutes

Ingredients:

3-6  Tilapia filets (6 oz. each)

6-8 cloves garlic, crushed and diced large

2 1/2 tbsp butter (4 tbsp – if no cooking spray)

4 tbsp fresh lemon juice

3 tsp fresh Parsley (or dried)

1 tsp Oregano (fresh or dried)

salt and pepper to taste

cooking spray

Directions:

Preheat¬†oven to 400¬į.

Melt 2 1/2 tbsp of butter on a low flame in a small sauce pan. (the rest will be melted and placed into the pan for baking if not cooking spray is available)

Add garlic and saute on low for about 1 minute. Add all but 1 tbsp of the lemon juice, shut off flame, and remove from heat.

Spray the bottom of a baking dish lightly with cooking spray (or remaining melted butter) and 1 tbsp of the lemon juice.

Place the fish on top and season with herbs, salt, and pepper. Pour the lemon butter mixture on the fish and top with fresh parsley for garnish

Bake¬†at 400¬į until cooked, about 15 minutes. (or until semi-golden)

Before:

 

After:

The buttery flavor mixed with lemon and garlic gave these tacos a new flare!

Nice Pairing:

Mango Salad:

Serving Size: 8

Total Time: 20 minutes

Ingredients:

1 Ripe mango (peeled, pitted, and diced) about 2 cups

2 cloves garlic (crushed and diced small)

1/2 medium red onion (diced small)

1/2 medium shallot (diced small)

1 Jalape√Īo chile minced (include seeds for a hotter taste)

1 small cucumber (diced small) about 1 cup

1 medium red bell pepper (diced small)

1 large avocado (diced)

4 Tbsp fresh cilantro leaves (chopped finely)

1 tbsp olive oil

3 Tbsp fresh lime juice/lemon juice

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Combine all of the ingredients in a bowl. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

If the salsa ends up being a little too hot or acidic for your taste, you can temper it by adding some more diced avocado and a tsp of cane sugar

Leave me a Comment!!

