Grilled Huli Huli Chicken

BeFunky_49514BB1-5627-4EEE-9F10-AC851C3BC87B.jpg

Kauai, Hawaii…. what a beautiful place! It has got to be my favorite island in the Hawaii chain…heck…probably one of my most favorite places to go visit. This island is so lush and relaxing that even Matt Damon, Pierce Brosnan and Julia Roberts own a property on this island to get away from it all.

The villas my family and I stayed in, had a restaurant near the outside pool area, that was unbelievably delectable, just the way I like it! My brother and I both saw on the menu an option for Huli Huli Chicken BBQ and there was no way for us to pick anything else! When the food came out to us, it looked amazing! (the taste was even better!) I don’t think I had been that excited to eat in a long time. The minute I finished, I had to ask what this Huli Huli sauce was made of.

I came back home, making sure to buy two bottles of the Huli Huli sauce in Hawaii, one for my brother and one for me. I ran out of my sauce really quickly, but it never ended up tasting like the restaurant. I remembered I wrote down the ingredients the waiter gave me and gave it a try. I came pretty darn close, I must say! If not me, my brother really enjoyed it and he is a picky one!

BeFunky_2BA17C17-C55A-41C0-A161-FFBA9C25BDFF.jpg

Grilled Huli Huli Chicken

Servings: 4-6 servings

Total Time: 1 hour 45 minutes

Ingredients:

1-2 lbs Chicken Thighs (cubed or full with slits on each piece to soak flavor)

3/4 cup Soy Sauce

3 Tbsp Sherry Wine

2 Tbsp Ketchup

3 Tbsp Brown Sugar

1 Tbsp Garlic (minced)

1 tsp Ginger (grated)

Olive Oil

1 Tbsp Lemon Juice

Salt and Pepper (I used a bit of Garlic Pepper)

2 Tbsp Butter (melted)

Directions:

In a mixing bowl, mix everything except the butter, and then add the diced chicken. Let the chicken then sit in the marinade for an hour, covered, in the fridge.

While the chicken sits in the fridge, you can add a side dish or a side salad, like I did. I decided to make a side bean salad, Bean-Me-Up Salad.

When the hour is up, or almost up, get your grill ready (I have a stove top) and I set it to medium heat. Once the grill is ready, start grilling the chicken (about 5-10 minutes each side – depending on how large your cubes are)

When the grilling is done, take the juice from the marinade (about 7 Tbsp) and mix it with the melted butter. In a mixing bowl place the grilled chicken and pour the butter mix in. Toss the chicken until coated nicely and serve.

BeFunky_8CCBD766-3D61-4433-99D5-7CACEADCD782.jpg

Leave me a Comment!!

